An Arkansas hunting license allows residents and non-residents to lawfully take wildlife from state land. Although licenses are simple to obtain, they come with a responsibility to respect the environment and state land. For your convenience, a license may be purchased online, by phone or in person.
Hunters who are not residents of Arkansas may also apply for an Arkansas hunting license, but it should be noted that additional restrictions apply for non-resident applicants.
It is important to have your license on you when you are hunting on public land. Therefore, if you lose your hunting permit, you may re-print it from an online database. As should be expected, fees do apply when obtaining your hunting license or re-printing another copy.
However, to avoid renewal, a lifetime DNR hunting license is available to qualifying applicants. These, of course, cost more than a temporary license or one that expires within a set limit of time. Furthermore, hunters older than 16 years of age must pass an education course or hold a deferred education card to hunt.
Hunters should note there are strict hunting regulations in Arkansas, and those who violate the state’s DNR license laws are subject to penalties, fines and possible imprisonment.
Learn How to Get a Hunting License in Arkansas
Information on how to get a hunting license in Arkansas will differ based on the type of license you are applying for. For starters, applicants older than 16 years of age must hold a valid license to hunt.
Before qualifying for a hunter’s license, the state of Arkansas requires all applicants to take hunter education courses. This requirement may be waived if a deferred license is purchased and the hunter is accompanied by a licensed adult. Once you’re ready to get your license, you can purchase it online, over the phone or in person at a licensed office.
An online hunting license or one purchased over the phone must be done so with a credit card. Fees vary based on the type of license being ordered.
Learn About Types of Hunting Licenses in Arkansas
An Arkansas lifetime hunting license, guide license or combination license are just a few of the options available to residents and non-residents of the state. The type of license required depends on the species being taken and the weapon used. The word “take” refers to an animal being captured, killed or possessed.
All residents born after 1968 must pass a hunting education course and carry the certificate alongside their license. Non-residents of Arkansas are entitled to hunt on state land if the appropriate license is purchased. Arkansas recognizes out of state hunting license cards from specific neighboring states.
Learn About Hunter Safety and Education Courses in Arkansas
The Arkansas hunter safety course must be completed by all hunters born after 1968. Applicants older than 16 years of age must hold a valid license to hunt, and therefore must pass the education course. However, exemptions may apply depending on the circumstance.
Children younger than 16 years of age may hunt without taking the course. However, they must be accompanied by a licensed adult. The course may be taken at any age, regardless of whether the participant is older than 16.
Additional bowhunter and instructor courses are available for those wanting to expand their skills or teach. The Arkansas hunter education course is recognized in all 50 states.
Learn About Arkansas Hunting Laws and Regulations
The hunting season in Arkansas differs between each animal. Therefore, hunters are only permitted to use certain weapons on particular wildlife during set seasons, and all bagging limits applied to each animal must be adhered to. These limits range from one animal per year to unlimited kills in one season.
There are also laws against those who illegal take wildlife and hunt without a proper license. In general, education certificates are required for all hunters. Anyone found violating hunting regulations or laws will be subject to fines, penalties and possible imprisonment.