Welcome to hunting-license.org, your comprehensive resource for all your hunting license-related services
The services we provide are available for free n the official sites or local offices. You can purchase for $23.98 and download our guide which containts vital information in order to perform any hunting related services and also includes a Safety Course Practice Test, audiobook & coupons. By clicking continue I represent that I am 18+ years of age. I agree to receive email newsletter and special offers targeted to my interests, sent by hunting-license.org and their Marketing Partners. I agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.
How to Get a Hunting License in Delaware
Get Started Now With Your {State} Hunting Guide
Get info about your hunting license with the {State} Game and Fishing Comission now.
  • Select which type of license and tag you need
  • Take the safety course
  • Take the practice test
Get your license now
1
2
3
TRUSTe online privacy certification
By clicking continue I represent that I am 18+ years of age. I agree to receive email newsletter and special offers targeted to my interests, sent by hunting-license.org and their Marketing Partners. I agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions. We do not process any type of application on your behalf, we provide our Hunting License Guide and other added benefits that will be delivered to your email.
Welcome to hunting-license.org, your comprehensive resource for all you hunting license-related services. The services we provide are available for free in the official sites or local offices. You can purchase for and download our guide which contains vital information in order to perform any hunting hunting related services and also includes a Safety Course Practice Test, audiobook & coupons. By clicking continue I represent that I am 18+ years of age, I agree to receive email newsletters and offers targeted to my interests, sent by hunting-license.org and their Marketing Partners. By continuing to use our site, you accept our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.

If you are wondering how to get a hunting license in Delaware, there are several different methods that allow you to get the credentials you need. For example, ordering an online hunting license is a convenient option because you can print your license at home. Permits can also be obtained over the phone, in person at a variety of locations throughout the state or through the mail for certain types of permits.

Delaware hunting permit credentials are issued by the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC). Almost everyone who hunts or traps in Delaware will need to obtain a license from DNREC before getting out in the field. Licenses give hunters and trappers permission to take wildlife including birds and mammals and ensure hunters can follow state hunting laws and regulations. However, to take certain species, hunters may need to get additional permits on top of their regular license. Below, learn more about the hunting license requirements in Delaware and find out how to buy a permit or replace lost credentials.

Who needs to get hunting license credentials in Delaware?

Before you take the steps to purchase hunting license credentials, it helps to learn more about who is required to have a license it the first place. You can hunt without a license if one of the following applies:

  • You are a resident or non-resident who is younger than 13 years of age.
  • You are a resident who is 65 years of age or older.
  • You are a landowner with more than 20 acres and only plan on hunting or trapping on your own property.
  • You are a member of the military and meet certain DNREC requirements (not all military members qualify).

If you fall above or below the required age for hunting license credentials or you qualify to hunt without a license for any other reason, you still need to register with DNREC before you can hunt. Instead of getting a hunting license, you will need to apply for a License Exempt Number (LEN). These ID numbers are available for free as long as you meet the eligibility requirements. You will need to enter your LEN when registering a deer, entering details into a harvest information program, buying tags for specific types of wildlife and in other situations. If you qualify for a LEN instead of a license, you will need to obtain a new LEN each year just as other hunters would obtain a new annual license.

Click here to get your informative guide to hunting in Delaware.

Steps to Apply for Hunting License Credentials in Delaware

When asking where to buy hunting license credentials, you will find that they are sold both online, in person, over the phone and through the mail for certain types of permits. Before getting a license through any method, you will want to ensure that you meet the eligibility requirements. Most importantly, you will need to prove that you have completed hunter’s education. You also will need to provide a payment, a form of identification as well as your Social Security Number to get a license. With these details in mind, review how to get a hunting permit in DE through your preferred method below.

Online

To buy hunting license online in DE, you will need to use the DNREC website. Before starting your transaction, it is important to note that the online licensing system is not currently compatible with touch screen devices. For this reason, it is recommended that you use a desktop computer instead. To order an online hunting license, you will need to have access to a printer, as you will print your license after the transaction is complete. When using the online licensing system, note that you are only allowed to purchase a license or stamp for yourself, not another person.

In Person

Delaware hunting permits can be purchased in person at a variety of retail locations. The DNREC office in Dover can also issue licenses. When getting a license at a retail store, note that not all locations offer every type of license. For example, some stores only sell fishing licenses, while others sell hunting licenses but do not issue conservation access passes that are required before you can drive onto state wildlife areas.

By Phone

Licenses can be purchased over the phone by calling DNREC’s Division of Fish and Wildlife at 302-735-3600 during normal business hours Monday through Friday.

By Mail

If you need a trapping license, it can be purchased through the mail by sending an application to the DNREC office. Furthermore, DE hunting licenses for military members and disabled veterans are only available through a mailed-in application. Paper forms can be printed from the DNREC website to be filled out or you can call 302-739-9918 to request that paper forms are sent to you.

How much does a Delaware hunting license cost?

When buying a hunting license in Delaware, the cost can vary based on several different factors. First, your age will affect how much you pay. Hunting license fees are lower if you buy a junior license, available to those between 13 and 16 years of age, compared to an adult license. Second, fees also vary based on your residency. In most cases, it is more expensive to purchase an out-of-state permit than it is to buy a license as a permanent resident of Delaware. Third, the type of license you buy can determine how much you pay, as some permits and licenses come with higher fees than others.

How to Replace and Renew Hunting License Credentials in Delaware

You cannot renew a hunting license in Delaware after it expires. Instead, you must purchase a new annual permit to continue hunting in the next year. Delaware does not currently offer any licenses that can be used year after year without a renewal. Keep in mind that you can hunt for free without needing to buy a license as long as you qualify for a LEN. However, even LENs need to be obtained on an annual basis, meaning that you cannot keep using the same number from one year to the next.

The only situation in which you can replace your hunting license is if it is lost or destroyed before its expiration date. The easiest way to replace a lost hunting license is to print a copy from your home computer after logging into your DNREC profile. Before doing so, it is important to note that you can only print a duplicate license two times before you need to pay an additional fee.