A hunter safety course in Delaware is an important class to take before you get out into the field to start hunting. Courses cover a wide range of materials, such as how to safely handle firearms and how to identify species. This information helps you become a better outdoorsman, but it also keeps everyone safer while hunting.
Not only does a hunter education course provide useful information, it is also mandatory before you can get a hunting license from the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) in most cases. Hunters education can either be completed in Delaware or in a different state, but no matter where you take the course you will need to prove that you have finished it before you are eligible for a license unless you are exempt from the education requirements. Below, learn more about the requirements for taking a safety course and discover how you can complete your classes.
If you were born after January 1, 1967, you are required to take a hunting safety class in DE before you will be eligible to get a hunting license. You will need to submit your hunting certificate or enter your hunter safety number (HSN) to prove that you have successfully completed the necessary education component in order to get any type of license.
Before a participant can enroll in hunter’s education in Delaware, he or she will also need to meet the age requirements. Classes are only open to enrollees who are 10 years of age or older. Furthermore, children who are younger than 12 years of age must attend class with a responsible adult. Minors between 12 and 18 years of age do not need to have an adult attend classes with them, but they will need to have an adult’s permission in order to participate in the firearms handling portion of the class.
Regardless of age, all applicants will need to submit a release from liability waiver before participating in any firearms training. Students who are younger than 18 years of age must have a parent or guardian sign this waiver in the presence of a notary.
Click here to get your informative guide to hunting in Delaware.
Several types of hunter safety classes are mandatory before you can get certain licensure from DNREC, not just to learn best practices but to also become familiar with hunting laws and regulations. To start, a basic hunter education class is required in order to get a youth or adult hunting license. These classes are provided both in an in-person and online format. However, if you plan on taking an online hunter safety course, it will need to be completed through a DNREC-approved vendor and you will still need to attend an in-person session to demonstrate your ability to handle firearms safely.
In addition to basic hunters education, you may need to take other courses before you can get a specific type of license. First, a trapping education class is mandatory if you were born after January 1, 1978 and want to buy a trapping permit. Second, you need to take a mandatory, one-day turkey education program if you plan on hunting turkeys anywhere in Delaware. While regular hunter safety classes are offered throughout the year, turkey and trapping education classes are typically only offered once per year. However, you can enroll in a trapping or turkey hunting education class online at any time without needing to complete a separate portion of the class in person. As with any online course, you must make sure any classes you take online are approved by DNREC.
Delaware hunting license courses cover a wide range of topics that participants need to know before getting out into the field. Classes usually go over the following information:
You are required to take a Delaware hunter safety course or an equivalent course in your home state before you can get your first license, but there are also a variety optional classes you can take. To advance your hunting skills further, you may want to consider enrolling in one of the following:
When you are ready to take a Delaware hunter safety course of any kind, you will need to sign up in advance. A list of available courses can be found on the DNREC website, but it is important to note that classes can fill up quickly. For that reason, it is recommended that you enroll as soon as possible and that you cancel your reservation if you cannot make it so that another hunter can sign up in your place. Whether you are taking the online hunting safety course or plan on doing the in-person session, you must bring ear and eye protection for the hand-on portion of the class. Do not bring your own firearms or ammunition.