Learning how to get a hunting license in North Carolina is critical for sporting enthusiasts who wish to hunt game in the state. A hunting permit in North Carolina is required for the majority of adult hunters because it ensures that responsible hunters understand basic safety and environmental rules that keep the sport safe and enjoyable for everyone. There are several ways to get this license. North Carolina offers an online hunting license, but applicants may also get it in-person or via mail.
In this article, you will learn the state’s age requirements, what documentation you need, the methods you can use and how much a license costs. As well, you will learn how you can replace your hunting license if it is lost or damaged. By the end, you should be prepared to start enjoying one of North Carolina’s great hobbies.
If you are 16 years of age or older, then you will need to get hunting license credentials before you can hunt legally in North Carolina. However, this does not mean that younger individuals cannot hunt. To the contrary, the required age for a hunting license in North Carolina only refers to who needs this license. If you are a youth younger than 11 years of age, then you are allowed to request an infant or youth hunting license. Without these licenses, minors younger than 16 years of age are still able to hunt with a licensed adult. Alternatively, if they apply for a hunting license in North Carolina and pass a hunter safety and education course, then they are allowed to hunt by themselves.
There are only two days when you cannot get hunting license credentials, which include your first and 12th birthdays. If you are about to turn one or 12 years of age, then it is best to wait until after your birthday and submit an application for the next age level, as this will allow you to receive the proper license. Although North Carolina offers lifetime membership for youths and infants, you are not allowed to get these online. Instead, you will need to apply at a Wildlife Resources Commission office or by mail.
Click here to get your informative guide to hunting in North Carolina.
Unlike many states, North Carolina hunting license requirements do not have a policy of ‘grandfathering in’ individuals who hunted before licenses were required or allow people older than a certain age to hunt without a license. It does, however, offer exceptions to individuals younger than 16 years of age as mentioned above. It also offers exemptions to service members.
A service member does not need to get a hunting license in North Carolina if he or she is stationed in the state for less than 31 days. If service members are stationed for 31 days or more, then they will be required to get the license.
Although North Carolina allows anyone to fish in its lakes on the Fourth of July, this exemption does not apply to hunting. For that, you will still need a license.
Hunting license requirements in North Carolina are simple. The hunting laws and regulations dictate you need to prove your identity when obtaining a license, which means bringing a state-issued photo ID with you. As well, you will need to prove that you have passed a hunters education course unless you qualify for an exemption from this requirement. This proof will take the form of a hunter education certificate.
If you choose to buy a hunting license online, then it is recommended that you check your printer beforehand to ensure that it is working. As well, you will need to pay for the license with either a debit or credit card.
When determining where to buy hunting license credentials, there are three different methods to consider:
Although it is easiest to purchase a hunting license in North Carolina online or via mail, the in-person option is useful if you have any questions. It is mandatory for certain types of hunting licenses that you show extra documentation, such as if you are buying a license for someone younger than 16 years of age. If you choose to buy a hunting license in-person, then you may do so at a licensed store or a Wildlife Resources Commission office.
Hunting license cost in North Carolina will vary based on your age, whether or not you live in the state and what sort of hunting privileges you want to have. Licenses are cheapest for young residents, with prices being higher for adults. However, you can also get significant discounts if you are disabled or a senior.
North Carolina’s temporary license is available to residents in the neighboring states. The prices to apply for hunting license credentials for nonresidents varies from state to state, but Georgia residents can get the cheapest licenses, while Virginia hunters have to pay the most. South Carolina and Tennessee residents will be required to pay average fees. Tennessee hunters get the cheapest annual licenses, with those from South Carolina paying the most and Georgia and Virginia sportsmen and sportswomen paying average prices.
Lifetime out-of-state hunting permits do not vary in cost from state to state. Prices may vary from year to year, but you can expect to pay more than $1,000.
A lost hunting license in North Carolina can be frustrating if you want to go for a hunt, but luckily it is not difficult to get it replaced. You will need to send a small payment to the Wildlife Resource Commission, along with an application indicating which license you had. Lifetime license holders can get a replacement for an even smaller, nominal fee.
If you lost a hunter education certificate, then you will need to email North Carolina’s Wildlife Resource Commission and provide it with some basic identifying information about yourself, such as your name, age and address.
Temporary and lifetime licenses cannot be renewed. To renew hunting license in North Carolina, you will need an annual license. North Carolina does not offer online or mail renewal, so you will need to go to the Wildlife Resources Commission, or simply get a new license at a licensed retailer.